We hate!

 

When I was 10-years-old, I made a slam book and made my favorite people fill it up. I asked different questions from the people and they answered them for me. Two interesting questions in that book were “who do you love?” and “who do you hate?”, in response to which they gave me names of people they loved and hated. When I put that book in front of my mama, she filled the whole thing out very obediently for her 10-year-old daughter but her response to “who do you hate?” was something that had a fine impact on me. She wrote:

“Hate is an extreme word. I can tell people I dislike but I don’t actually hate anyone.”
That statement has been imprinted on my mind ever since. Then came the time when I was introduced to the real life and then I realized that all those quotations of “be good to everyone” and “do unto others as you would have them do unto you” were not applied here. I also realized that ‘hate’ was a not-so-extreme term and was used very commonly.

“I hate you for not telling me your secret.”

“I hate you for calling me stupid.”

“I hate you for uploading that picture.”

Hate, hate, hate, hate, hate,……………….

And we hate people for minutest reasons without pondering that what goes around comes around too. Β Will Smith pointed out rightly, “Hate in your heart will consume you too.”

Now let’s forward my life. 10 years later (2012), I was working in an organization as an intern for two months. One day a misunderstanding occurred and two of my colleagues landed into a fight. When the reason of the argument reached the CEO, she called each one of us and said, “how can you hate each other when you hardly know each other?” This took me back to my mother’s comment in the slam book. I wondered when we don’t fall in love so easily saying that it’s an extreme feeling, how can we so easily declare that we despise someone?

Yes, it is easy to hate and difficult to love these days. But aren’t all good things difficult? Plus love makes you feel good and light from within and hate is such a burden. Correta Scott King says, “hate injures the hater more than it injures the hated.”

Hate infiltrates the heart

The moral of the story?
Who am I to give you the moral?
I, like everyone else, am also one of the culprits who have been contaminating the world with poisonous ‘hatred gas’. But those who are wise will definitely be able to draw a moral out of what I wrote.

Cheers!Β  πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “We hate!

  1. I totally agree to u maha bt the prblm with we ppl is tht we always learn these things whn we r being effected by these nt whn we commit these.

    • True! But if we learn by committing the mistake itself (action) or by being affected (reaction), result is still the same, LEARNING!
      So I believe that at the end of the day, “learning” becomes the most important asset no matter how it has been learnt.

  2. That was a very fine and stimulating piece of work Maha! ” Appreciated ” πŸ˜€
    anyways , wile reading that ,i recalled some words of a character thats actually from some Chinese cartoon series πŸ˜› , they are :
    “Love breeds sacrifice , which in turn breeds hatred”
    i hope you’d give ur thoughts to this as well ! πŸ™‚

    • Wo wo wo! Now that’s a totally different dimension we’re touching. Yes, a thought worth consideration. Surely I’ll ponder over your point of view too πŸ™‚
      Meanwhile I’m waiting for your blogs Talha! And thaaannkk yoouu!

Leave a Reply

